Which country is set to join as the sixth member of the five eyes’ intelligence network?

Japan is set to join as the sixth member of the Five Eyes intelligence network.

The Five Eyes is an intelligence-sharing arrangement between five English-speaking democracies: the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. It evolved during the Cold War as a mechanism for monitoring the Soviet Union and sharing classified intelligence.

Japan has been a close intelligence partner of the Five Eyes countries for many years, and has been collaborating with them on a range of issues, including counterterrorism, cybersecurity, and countering China’s growing influence in the Indo-Pacific region.

In recent months, there have been a number of reports that Japan is set to become a full member of the Five Eyes network. This would be a significant development, as it would give Japan even greater access to intelligence from the other Five Eyes countries, and would further strengthen the intelligence ties between the six countries.

While there has been no official announcement from Japan or the other Five Eyes countries, it is widely expected that Japan will become a full member of the network in the near future.

Five Eyes Intelligence Alliance, Five Eyes, Five Eyes Alliance
Five Eyes Intelligence Alliance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *